The Cleveland Philharmonic Orchestra is a full-sized symphony orchestra with about 80 members, which gives two or three challenging concerts each year. Each concert is preceded by two days of intensive rehearsal. Our members come from all over the North of England, and although some are also instrumental teachers, many are not. Membership is by invitation.

Latest Concert:

Sunday 22nd March 2020 at 3.00 pm

We regret that this concert is now cancelled following government guidelines and the temporary closure of Middlesbrough Town Hall.

Sophie Rosa
Conductor: David Greed
Solo Violin: Sophie Rosa
Borodin: Prince Igor overture
Bruch: Violin Concerto in G minor
Borodin: Symphony No. 2 in B minor “The Herculean”

Who we are

The Cleveland Philharmonic Orchestra was founded in 1975 by the late Edwin Raymond and continues to support his main aims – to provide an opportunity, two or three times a year, for experienced local musicians to study challenging and less familiar repertory, often works for large orchestral forces.  The orchestra has performed major works by Bartok, Bruckner, Elgar, Hindemith, Humperdinck, Mahler, Shostakovitch and  Vaughan-Williams.


We’ll be back

As you will have realised, the orchestra has not been able to meet for the last year.  However we will be back as soon as possible and look forward to welcoming you to another concert before too long.

Sunday 22nd March We regret that this concert is now cancelled following government guidelines and the temporary closure of the Town Hall

Sunday March 22nd 2020   3:00 p.m. A Sunday Treat for Mum Take Mum out for a different sort of treat this year – bring her to our Mothering Sunday concert in Middlesbrough Town Hall – a lovely programme of Bruch and Borodin.   David Greed from Opera North is our conductor and Sophie Rosa is …

Sunday 20th October 2019 – Magic, Myths and Fairy Tales

Sunday 20th October 2019 Bring your magic wand and join us in Middlesbrough Town Hall for an afternoon of Magic, Myth and Fairy Tales. Dukas – The Sorcerer’s Apprentice Williams – A selection from Harry Potter Neilsen – Aladdin Suite Mussorgsky- Night on a Bare Mountain Tchaikovsky- A selection from Sleeping Beauty Download a Poster …

Contact Us